How to add media server manually? (AirPlayer)

You need to input your media server’s description address to add the media server manually, then you can watch your movies when you outside your house 🙂

1. Twonky media server.

http://IP Address:9000/TMSDeviceDescription.xml

2. PS3 media server

http://IP Address:5001/description/fetch

3. Eyeconnect

http://IP Address:2170/

4. Vuze

http://IP Address:63158/RootDevice.xml

If you have added other media server successfully, tell us!

5. AirPlayer media server

http://IP Address:2072/DeviceDescription.xml

50 Responses to “How to add media server manually? (AirPlayer)”

  1. Scenic Says:

    How can I stream *.ts videos form a dreambox to iphone an OPlayer. A user wrote in itunes store comment that this should work.

  2. Playstation 3 world Says:

    Nice information, many thanks to the writer! It is good and correct. The usefulness and significance is overwhelming. Thanks again for this unbelievably powerful post and good luck!

  3. Pranav Says:

    Know any light RSS feed readers? My FeedDeamon is too much filled up with RSS feeds. Do let me know by replying back to my comment, I’ll be checking back.

  4. Mikel Says:

    I have PS3 media server and I’m trying to configure to be connected from outsider. I configre manually http://IP Address:5001/description/fetch but it doesnt work. What is the description ? I put the ñame of the PC.
    Can you help me ?
    Thanks,
    Mikel.

  5. Meldrion Says:

    Hello, I just wonder if i can add the Wild Media Server manually ?

  6. Cedric Says:

    Hi,
    I have PS3 MS installed on my PC and it is working perfectly on local network. I’m then wondering on how do I need to set up AirPlayer to have access to my media away from my home.

    Which IP address should I use to add media server manually http://IP Address:5001/description/fetch?

    I tested the connection (made tests from home, I guess it is possible to test even if not away?) with two IP addresses

    I tried using my computer’s IP (173.176…, I understand this is my “real” IP) and it is not working, showing “UnKnowed Media Server”.

    I also tried using PS3 MS IP Address (something like 192.168…) and it is working but I’m wondering if this will really work away from home as I understand from some readings that this IP address is more one of local network.

    Your help will be much appreciated.

    Cedric

    • olimsoft Says:

      when you outside the house, you need to input the public ip, your case is(173..), you can simply test it by input “http://IP Address:5001/description/fetch” in your safari to see whether you can get a xml file, then you can add it manually.

      • Paul Bechthold Says:

        I posted on a similar topic last. My trouble is like cedric’s in that I can not find the description file for my device (MBWE2 running TMS 5.1) I verified this by your suggestion. Navigating to 70.75…:9000/TMSDeviceDescription.xml brings up a 404 page. Is there another possible location or name for the file? Is there a workaround?

        I was under the impression that users had gotten the MBWE2 working with airplayer from remote locations.

      • olimsoft Says:

        sorry, we haven’t got this type device. next release, when you find your device in your local network, we will show the local address of the description file, then you can know the public address of the file.

  7. Vincent Says:

    Hello,
    I have a belkin home base
    Can i use it with your airplayer ?
    Thanks

  8. Jarrod Says:

    Hello,
    I’m trying to set up the airplayer externally to connect with PS3 media server, where can I got for a complete ‘how to’ because I really have not much of an idea??

    Thanks

  9. Jarrod Says:

    Thanks for the reply but I’m still a little lost, if I want to connect my iPad externally to a ps3 media server using the airplayer app on my iPad am I manually setting it up on my iPad and what details am I changing or manually inputting? Is this what I’m using “http://192.168.1.3:5001/description/fetch”, do I replace the “description” part of this address?
    Thanks

    • olimsoft Says:

      You need to replace the ip of your media server’s public ip, if your are in your home network, maybe you need to do a port mapping. public ip:5001 you media server local ip:5001

  10. Home Depot Truck Rates Says:

    Home Depot Truck Rates…

    […]How to add media server manually? (AirPlayer) « jonathan young's Blog[…]…

  11. Alexander Michel Valentin Wagenius Says:

    what do i put as username and password?

  12. Knud J Jensen Says:

    Hi

    I’m not sure if this a question for here, or for Western digital.

    I have a setup of a WD My book world editon 2 connected to a linksys e300 router, and i have set up my router to match external port 9000 with the internal port of my WD.

    I have opened up Airplayer over wifi, and copied the address in the field, and then manually made a new device with the same address but with the external ip of my router.

    And then i can open it in safari on my iphone, and see an xml file.

    When i open airplayer remotely, i can now access all my files on my home WD drive.

    What i am curious about now is, can i fill out the fields with username and password, so that my WD isnt shared publically with the rest of the world?

    • olimsoft Says:

      UPNP is mainly designed for the local network, but some server provide external access with a username/password, if your nas not support username/password, suggest you not to manually add it.

  13. Golf GPS Range Finder Says:

    Golf GPS Range Finder…

    […]How to add media server manually? (AirPlayer) « jonathan young's Blog[…]…

  14. Tomaszów Says:

    Tomaszów…

    […]How to add media server manually? (AirPlayer) « jonathan young's Blog[…]…

  15. pat Says:

    Hi. I’m trying to open a .mov file downloaded from Filezilla w/ windows 7 and I can’t. What do I need to do?
    Thanks
    Pat

  16. Arthur Says:

    Hi. You can add Freenas 7. With UPnP enabled at default port 49152. Without a password.

    -> http://:49152/description.xml

  17. wildthing Says:

    I have an IOMEGA NAS which is DLNA compliant and inside the LAN it works fine. I have port forwarded 9000 to its LAN address but what do I put in the devicedescription.xml file and how is it created and where do I file it?

    • olimsoft Says:

      You needn’t put the description file. just click the add button in the devices tab, and paste the url of the description file, don’t forget the replace the ip of the url to the public url of your route.

  18. Ray Says:

    Hello I’m all new to this and I have a iPad and iPhone that I want to be able to access my nas drive which is a my book world which has a twonky media server on it….

    I have the airplayer app on both but I want to be able to access my nas from these if I’m at my mothers house via wifi or if I’m at some one else’s house?

    I have a virgin media super hub and know how to access the settings page but as far as that goes I’m a bit stumped ?

    Can some one help and give me an idiots guide ? Step by step as to what to do? how and when ? Just to get this remote feature of AirPlayer to work ?

    Any help is appreciated

    Hoggy07@hotmail.co.uk

  19. Codstuff Says:

    Whats up very nice web site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally?I am satisfied to find a lot of useful information here in the put up, we need develop more strategies on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  20. 巴黎婚紗照 Says:

    I genuinely enjoy studying on that internet site, it has
    got wonderful posts.

  21. http://phpmaster.com Says:

    I gotta bookmark this site they could be invaluable helpful

  22. www.savekb.de Says:

    Excellent post. I appeared to be checking constantly
    this website and I will be impressed!

  23. Elias Says:

    Decided to mention cultivate the good job!
    I’m really enjoying the theme/design of the weblog. Can you get together with any browser compatibility issues? A number of my blog audience have were not impressed with my website not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you possess any tips to help you fix this problem? We are curious to discover what blog platform you happen to be using? I’m experiencing some
    minor security problems with my latest site and I’d personally elect to find anything safe. Is there any recommendations? Hmm it seems a good deal website ate my first comment (that it was super long) thus i guess I’ll just conclude whatever wrote and say,
    I’m thoroughly enjoying your website post. I too am an upcoming blog writer but I’m still having
    their first go everything. Do you know of any points for
    first-time blog owners? I’d genuinely be thankful. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme with this particular site.
    It really is reasonably, yet effective. Every so
    often it’s quite difficult to have that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal.

  24. Riz Says:

    Can I ask the manual server add details for the Serviio server please?

  25. how to get more website traffic Says:

    Simply wanna remark that there is a very decent web page, I love
    the layout it actually showcases.

  26. cpr and first aid certification online Says:

    Hi there it’s me, I am also visiting this website daily, this site is in fact pleasant and the viewers are truly sharing nice thoughts.

  27. Steve Says:

    Hello – I am using Serviio as my Media Server on my WHS 2011 box. I am using Air Player on my Ipad. I can get it to work internally (my home), but cannot get it to work outside of my home

    I also have a dynamic dns address – dacaseys.no-ip.org that maps to an internal ip address of 192.168.1.50

    I have tried using this = http://IP‬ Address:8895/deviceDescription/edf579b3-7c26-3ff0-986e-cc1a406c97df substituting the dacaseys.no-ip.org or the ip by itself.

    1) Is that the right address?
    2) what is device description?

    Please help!

    Steve Casey

  28. camcorder repairs Says:

    I almost never write remarks, but after reading some of the responses here How
    to add media server manually? (AirPlayer) | jonathan young’s Blog. I do have a couple of questions for you if you do not mind. Is it simply me or do a few of these comments look like they are written by brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are writing on other places, I’d like to follow you.
    Would you list of all of all your public pages like
    your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  29. Paul murphy Says:

    I downloaded airplayer on iPad. I have vuze feeding my ps3 from my Pc. I open airplayer and can get my vuze under devices, but no files are showing up. Any guidance would be appreciated thank you!

  30. Kazem O. Says:

    Hi just bought your AirPlayer app with the intention of using it as a Media Server to stream music from my iPhone 4s to PS3. Unfortunately, the app does not recognize the iPhone as a local Media Server. Is there a way I can configure this?

  31. Winfred Says:

    Awesome things here. I am very glad to look your article.
    Thank you so much and I’m having a look forward to touch you.

    Will you please drop me a e-mail?

  32. Neoma Nyquist   Says:

    http://iwaniw.net/

  33. ablite Says:

    account abenezertesfaye14@Gmail.com

Leave a comment